The CHP has made its choice: Özgür Özel has become the new general chairman

Özgür Özel

In the 38th Ordinary Congress of the CHP, 1,367 congress delegates from 81 provinces elected the new party chairman and the new party administration for the centenary of the Republic and the party. The new Chairman of CHP is Özgür Özel.

Özgür Özel became the 8th Chairman of the first political party of the Republic of Turkey, CHP, following Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, İsmet İnönü, Bülent Ecevit, Deniz Baykal, Hikmet Çetin, Altan Öymen, and Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu.

During the election that went to the second round, around 03:00, Chairman of the Congress, Ekrem İmamoğlu, stepped onto the podium to announce the new Chairman of CHP. Özel became the chairman by receiving 812 votes, while Kılıçdaroğlu received 536 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *